The Celebrity who designed the path of my life

As a student of film studies, there has been many occasions, when I had to face the question, how on Earth do I tolerate the meaningless commercial Bollywood films featuring Shah Rukh Khan! Being a diehard fan of the King Khan, I find it rather disgusting to answer back their questions, simply because I can never, ever share the feelings and the impact of this man in my life!

shahrukhkhan-jan30.jpg

Image Source: hillele.org

Few days, ago there has been a blogging contest hosted about the celebrities, or people who have inspired you! I found, that many of the fellow bloggers, found it confusing; how to write about the celebrities, whom they have never met personally in their life. But, for me an inspiration might come in various forms; one does not need to meet them physically for that! It might come in the form of a virtual figure, or a celebrity or simply someone whom we meet every day. In this post, I would like to share my personal experience, and how the King Khan had transformed the dynamics of my life, from a tender age.

download.jpgImage Source: www.fallinginlovewithbollywood.com

I was not more than two years, when I learned to sing “Tujhe dekha to yeh jana sanam”(I understood what love is when I met you) or “Mehendi laga ke rakhna”(Be ready my bride) (although I was unable too young to decode the meaning of the words at that age). I used to run across the lawn, singing these songs and trying to act the way I saw them in the television sets. Unlike my other friends, I had very little access to the television sets or films, until I passed my Secondary Examination.

u26726962.jpg

Image Source: www.fotosearch.com

As a result, my only source of entertainment was the tape recorder, or the radio sets! Whenever there was a new movie in town, my aunt and my sister would immediately rush, to grab the cassettes, which I would listen and dance throughout the day. And it is needless to say, that most of them were the movies, starred by the King Khan.
I still remember the day, when we were begging our parents to let us watch the film Dilwale Dulhania Le Jayenge at the local movie hall. But, my father clearly declined the plan even after the booking of the tickets (which were again returned by my grandfather). Similarly, we had to revolt in the same way to let us watch Dil To Pagal Hai or Kuch Kuch Hota Hai. My childhood, was more or less like the trailer of the upcoming movie “Fan”!

Apart from the audio cassettes, posters, and newspaper cuttings (of the man himself), my childhood will probably turn out to be an empty canvass! Much like all other young women, I too dreamt of my passionate relationship and my Mr Perfect who will sing for me “Main yahan hoon ” (I am here)!

images.jpgImage Source: www.santabanta.com

Even today, when I see this guy onscreen it fills my heart with a sense of completeness and perhaps the yearning for love that I have been dreaming for ever since my childhood! After all, as the audience, I too like to take the position of the actress of the King Khan and indulge in the virtual world! The man, who turned my made my childhood colorful, the man who taught me to dream, to imagine and thereby to love films (which shaped up my academics and career) certainly has a lot of impact in my life; and thus, even though I have never met him personally, he is my Mr Fantastico!

 

This blog post is inspired by the blogging marathon hosted on IndiBlogger for the launch of the #Fantastico Zica from Tata Motors. You can apply for a test drive of the hatchback Zica today.

Leave a Reply

