Melodious 90s and nostalgia!

“If music be the food of love, play on”
Ever since time immemorial, the concepts of music have been intensely connected with the idea of love. Not just love, it is perhaps the most powerful tool, to express our emotions or mind state on almost every occasion. No matter how grumpy an uncle is, if you secretly stalk him at his home, you might discover that he is an amazing bathroom singer. Similarly, be it a fashionable young teenager, or an outdated 80 years old aunt; there must be some sort of music to turn their mood on (even though the genres might vary drastically).

urlwww.dreamstime.com

When I was a child, there was a desperate attempt (by obviously my parents) to instil all the good qualities in my brain. As a result, my only source of entertainment was the patriotic songs, and Rabindra sangeet (apart from the nursery rhymes, and the folk tales).

8951582_f520

hubpages.com

Being the youngest member of my family, I was pampered a lot by my grandfather, grandma, uncle, and aunt. When I was spending quality time with them, most of the time they used to make me understand the depth of the songs they played constantly. My gradma use to sing me lullaby, and grandpa used to sing us (all the cousins) adventurous tales (based on Mythology) most of the time.  However, my uncle seemed to be a huge fan of Kumar Sanu, Udit Narayan; while my aunt seemed to be highly inspired by the satiric songs of Kabir Suman (I was also taking classes of classical music at that time).
At that phase, we were made to realize that listening to the modern Hindi songs was a heinous crime. Naturally, I was more inclined towards the peppy Hindi songs of the 1990s because I was asked not to listen to them! I used to sing and dance around at the tunes of “Yay re yay re jor lagake nach re” (Lets dance from Rangeela), “Mujhko hui na khabar” (I was not aware from Dil to Pagal Hai), “Yeh kali kali akhein” (These eyes from Baazigar) and what not! In fact, at that point, me and my sister had learned the songs (the complete lyrics as well as the tunes)so perfectly, that we could beat anyone in the local “Antaksharis”(a competition of songs).

Whenever there was a power cut in our house, one would find me and my sister in the balcony, playing “Antakshari” (to the utter disappointment of my father).

images

www.colourbox.com
This continued throughout the 90s, until my sister turned out to be a rebel at heart and began to worship Rupam Islam (or rather the first Bengali rock band Fossils). When I was fed up with her attitude, she used to dismiss me completely because I was too young to decode the meanings of those revolutionary songs! Thus, for the next few years, on every holiday, our home flooded with loud rock music and guitars! I was literally forced to listen to those songs at that time, which I gradually found interesting (as I learned to decode the meanings).
In the era of Honey and Mika Singh, it is definitely too hard to revive our good old days. But, whenever there is a melodious song (or music album) coming out, we still share it with each other or dedicate the same, simply to revive our memories and to feel good from inside!

90423904988536410_anz9pehv

yasminezikry.wordpress.com

PS: Today I wonder, why my father had a dislike towards the popular Hindi songs of the 1990s (when I still yarn for them); and how exactly he might have reacted if he had to raise us up in the era of Yo Yo Honey Singh!

This blog post is inspired by the blogging marathon hosted on IndiBlogger for the launch of the #Fantastico Zica from Tata Motors. You can apply for a test drive of the hatchback Zica today.

Leave a Reply

